top of page

My first impressions of Herbatint non-toxic hair dye


I used Herbatint Hair Dye to color hair extensions. Here's how it went.



HERBATINT is a paraben-free, ammonia-free hair dye.

It is safer than conventional hair dyes and is free of fragrance and alcohol. The lighter ingredients prevent hair stripping.

Herabatint has been around since and their main goal is to offer safer at-home coverage for grey hair.


Herbatint Hair Colors

They have 36 colors and have recently become a b-corporation.

Ok, Herbatint we see you.



I tried two colors: 6N Dark Blonde (pictured in second image) and 1N Black . I used each color on 2 separate wigs I recently made at home being me.




Like me you have seen these at your local natural grocery store mine is Sprouts.

So, Is Herbatint safer than conventional hair dye?


The INGREDIENTS: Herbatint Haircolor Gel Ingredients: Laureth-4, propylene glycol, aqua (water), PEG-2 oleamine, ethanolamine, P-phenylenediamine, oleic acid, aole barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf extract, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) leaf extract, betula alba (birch) leaf extract, echinacea angustifolia (echinacea) root extract, juglans regia (walnut) shell extract, rheum palmatum (rhubarb) root extract, cinchona calisaya (cinchona) bark extract, PEG-75 meadowfoam oil, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, 4-chloroesorcinol, tetrasodium EDTA, 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol HCL, cetrimonium chloride, simethicone, sodium metabisulfite, glycerin.

Developer Ingredients: Aqua (water), hydrogen peroxide, etidronic acid, trideceth-9, cetrimonium chloride, simethicone, propylene glycol, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil.

Royal Cream Ingredients: Aqua (water), citric acid, cetyl alcohol, behentrimonium chloride, aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, moringa pterygosperma (moringa) seed extract, triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil, oryza sativa (rice) bran oil, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, PPG-3, benzyl ether myristate, methyl gluceth-20, ethoxydiglycol oleate, isopropyl alcohol, sodium dehydroacetate, sodium benzoate, parfum (fragrance), imidazolidinyl urea, tocopheryl acetate, glycerin. *Botanical and Natural Origin.


I have a basic knowledge of the science behind chemical ingredients, so I use ingredient analyzers.


Analyzer tools like SkinCharisma will list all ingredients in a product. These ingredient analyzers are a life-saver. They even highlight which ingredients are harmful and why.

If you are not sure how safe Herbatint is for you, I recommend comparing it to whatever you are currently using.

Let's start coloring the hair.


I used Indique Virgin hair extensions and I wear glam hair extensions. Both are virgin hair and Indique is also chemical-free. Read about them here.

THE PROCESS: Easy to follow


  1. open box and put on gloves

  2. mix the two tubes of liquid developer and gel into a separate mixing bowl

  3. add cream to perimeter and nape if applying to natural hair

  4. add your desired amount. Use a hairbrush or preferred color applicator. I used the soaking method with both hair units


*Note: Other reviewers used half of the mixture to dye their entire head of hair.

Because I'm dying thick hair I used all the 6N mixture and 2/3 of the black 1N.

5. Let the dye sit for 3--40 minutes then rinse well


6. Add shampoo for blonde hair I recommend using Rahua purple shampoo it is a new cult classic for non toxic hair care.



Rahua purple shampoo


The Mess: Very little and easy to manage there was no hard to clean staining, yay!


The Smell :

Pleasant compared to any hair dye I've ever used. I would still recommend cracking a window if possible. The smell is fruity and pleasant but has a linger of processing smell near the end of coloring.


Results:

Yes please ,IMPRESSIVE!



I'm always happy to find low chemical products to achieve a hair-do for the goddesses. Dying hair is a fun and effective way to change your look and re-use your hair extensions.


Simple black hair dye is all you need to take an old hair-do into the new age.#cleanbeautybabes



I love the outcome and how healthy and shiny it makes the hair look. Now that I have faced my hair coloring fears, I want to dye my natural hair. I must decide if it will be with Herbatint or another organic hair dye out there.


I'll be sure to share my experience when the time comes. Til' then stay colorful.


-Roxy


*Note this Herbarint product is different than Naturtint which is at whole foods.

Comments


shop

 MY  ORGANIC FAVORITES

bottom of page